• Home

National Medals

Tathra’s Captain, Adam Wiggins and Senior Deputy Captain, Jason Lewington, who were both awarded the National Medal. This medal is awarded to Operational members of military and civilian uniformed services who have exhibited diligent long service.

Adam Wiggins commenced with the Batemans Bay Brigade as a Junior member in 1992. In 2001 he joined the Tathra Brigade and progressed through the ranks taking the appointment as Captain in 2004. Adam has been deployed to many fires and other natural disasters, including the 1994 Sydney Bushfires. He has been instrumental in coordinating various aspects of field operations during the recent Tathra Bushfires and is a strong leader for the Tathra Brigade.

Jason Lewington commenced as a Junior member in 1997 and in has progressed through the ranks to the appointment of Senior Deputy Captain in 2007. Jason  has been deployed to many fires and natural disasters in both NSW and Interstate including the 2001 Shoalhaven Bushfires, Victorian Bushfires and Wagga Floods.

About us

Tathra Volunteer Rural Fire Brigade is just one of the many Brigades that make up the NSW Rural Fire Service. We are a volunteer Brigade operating since 1945 on the Far South Coast of NSW.


Bega Road

Tathra, NSW, 2550

0429 858 123